Twisted Vision!!!

Posted: April 11, 2011 in Uncategorized

While I was growing up I had a Vague understanding about education I thought that when you are educated you become a new light that shines in darkness, you become a better person, you become some one who has a logical way of thinking and tries to correct the wrong in the society this ideas where largely propelled by the documentary of our past heroes and the sops that where aired on national television then. Soap operas like the village headmaster: where the head master is always well comported and displays a sequentially logical and intellectual way of solving problem and answering questions (even when he was wrong). Back then it was always interesting to watch the news as issues are being discussed and presenters are well dressed in a beautiful studio(cant compare with the current standard now though).back then when you see a graduate, you know automatically as if they all have indicators on them that says “Am A Graduate” they are organized both “indoors” and “outdoors” back then our leaders where slim and handsome young men with life, and I remember my uncle teaching me how to speak good English as he called it then.
Now I have grown and I guess I have a better sight now, what do I see? I see a society of very educated but docile individuals where a professor of Engineering takes his car to the road side Mechanic (an illiterate) as he will call, where my nephew a 6yrs old now tells a graduate that it is “Shut the door not close” and the so called graduate was just dumbfounded as if that wasn’t enough when my nephew went back to ask what is the different between the two he just laughed it off. I now see our educated, well read, perturbed and aged leaders lie with no remorse give an explanations of policies that confuse even they that are trying to implement it. I see people I.e. banker Doctors, etc. beat traffic rules and would tell you “You have to be smart”. I see people in traffic jams queuing patiently and when a “Danfo” driver takes a one way drive to beat the traffic our teeming educated populace follow suit’ (and people wonder why with the level of educated populace we are led by the kind of leaders). I See a professor (Gbagbo) wanting to turn a democratic government to family inheritance betraying the trust given to them by the people, and on the local stations? I see nothing to watch on our local station Empty! Empty!! Empty!!! Nothing impressive though they now show how corrupt leader rig election and stay in power how you embezzle national fund and be celebrated for it, how you can be slothful while the whole world’s watching and nobody seems to question your actions, I see children and youths exchanging their role models for rogue models in governance. But come to think of it, isn’t it funny the way our leaders I mean African leaders now walk around with shoulders high claiming to be leaders, as in when they attend meetings with their fellow counterpart I find it hard to understand how they could sit in those seats without guilt or shame knowing very well that things are working in other countries and in the states where they lead things are failing. I don’t seem to understand, in fact  am confused is it that I have a skewed understand when I was young? Or is that my reasoning is distorted as I grow old? Or is that the Nigerian state has been hit by old age? Or is my vision about education and the society now clearer? Or is that I have a negative way of seeing things? Because I need to know what my son will see when he is growing!!!

Comments
  1. toluolaniyan says:

    Topical and Tropical issues, I Have not seen but have heard of Leaders with integrity and dignity. I look round today and wonder who invented that word because for real the true meaning of the words no longer exist in the human race…. You said our Leaders were formally Slim, young And Lively right? Yes! you should they not be when they had vision and were always thinking Not compared to the ones we have Now that grow obsess even in their trousers due to the facet that all they do is to sit down at a spot, and employ P.As for every of their function leaving them with noting to do………….I rest my case here …… but still have much to say!!!

  2. Patrick Musa says:

    Well,Well,Well! What a wonderfully written article! How can U say that things are not working in the countries they(African Leaders) lead, when things are working only for them?
    Wanna know what your son’s gonna see? Solution: Leave Naija NOW! or better still go into politicks. Politicks not POLITRICKS!
    NICE ONE

Leave a comment